A Gnat on Speed: Writing While Distracted

Image result for gnat

I have the attention span of a gnat on speed.

My writing process is very distracted and disorganized.

giphy

gif of how my brain operates

Typically, I have a bunch of tabs open in my browser.

It’s the usual suspects: Facebook, Twitter, Netflix, random astrology site, IMDb, Pinterest, dictionary.com…

I tend to have at least three writing projects going on at once, not including my blogs. If I closed my browser and focused on one thing at a time, my productivity would probably go up 577%.

The  strategy that usually works for me is to set the timer on my phone and write until it buzzes. I don’t engage in social media or anything during the timed blocks of writing.

I’m aware of apps that block your Internet access so you can work undisturbed but I haven’t tried any of those yet.

Do you write while distracted? How do you overcome it?

Leave a Reply

