Finding Magical Minutes to Create

clock-650753_640

If you write or make art or create in any way, then perhaps you’ve been in the grabbing-for-time-to-be-creative boat.

Maybe you already have a full schedule with work/parenting/something else that takes up your time, and we know these things are non-negotiable.

Or maybe you’re easily distracted like me and you need a system that will help you make the most of your time.

I left my full-time job in April. Since then, finding time to write hasn’t been the issue. It’s the actual getting my butt in the seat to do it.

Back when I was working, I had a daily schedule between my job and after-work duties that I stuck to. Having a schedule made me accountable and productive, unlike the way I spend my days currently.

I know it needs to stop. I have to save me from myself and my Burn Notice Netflix marathons and the endless parade of other, Internet-related distractions.

Things to Consider When Trying to Find Time to Be Creative:

  • What are the things that you must do no matter what (things like showing up for your job, taking care of your kids, etc.)?
  • What do you want to accomplish creatively?
  • Can you use break times at work?
  • How about times in between picking up/dropping off kids at school/appointments?
  • When are you most productive, in the morning or the afternoon? At night?
  • Is there a time when you’re less likely to be interrupted?
  • Is there a place you can go where you can create uninterrupted?

Here’s what I did:

  • I wrote down a list of all the things I wanted to accomplish during the day, which included writing, exercising, and checking social media.
  • I accounted for things like walking my dog, cleaning the house, and other chores such as laundry.
  • I even wrote down the things that were no-brainers, like eating breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Here’s What a Typical Day’s Schedule Is Going to Look Like:

6-7:00 am – Out of bed

8:00 – Breakfast/email/social media

8:30 – Exercise/shower/get ready for day

9:30 – Writing

12:00 pm – Lunch

1:00 – Writing

3:00 – Walk GG Wondermutt

4:00 – Start getting dinner ready

Will I stick by this schedule every day? No. It’ll change due to a variety of factors, because life gets in the way, especially when I attempt to plan things.

Obviously, everyone is different and your mileage may vary. What works for someone won’t necessarily work for someone else.

How do you find time to write, make art, or whatever you make?

Do you stick to a schedule or use another method?

Leave a Reply

