A bit on how I write, part 1

pencil-918449_640

Taken from a questionnaire on How You Write.

  • Do you write in longhand or at a computer?

I usually write using my laptop. It’s where I keep the bulk of my writing files, but I do still have some of them on my desktop. I got the laptop so I could take it with me if things ever get too noisy in my building or if I feel like going to the library and working there.

I also have a bunch of notebooks I write in. The Brumal Star‘s outline and world building was done in a series of notebooks. Sometimes I like the feeling of writing in longhand with different colored Sharpies. I also like the smell of Sharpies, which is a topic for a totally different post.

  • Do you create a detailed outline, or just start writing?

I’ve tried outlining in a few different  ways. I’ve done the traditional setup, like this:

I. main idea

a. blah blah

  1. more blah blah
  2. even more blah blah

And I’ve tried doing it the “Twelve Sentences” method, which I had varying degrees of success with.

What work best for me is to write a humongous idea dump at the beginning of my document and break it into section within chapter headings.

I tend to edit as I go along, which “they” tell you not to do, but it works for me.

 

 

2 thoughts on “A bit on how I write, part 1

  1. Nice post! I write mostly on my laptop too but I find writing on a typewriter seems to help me write more smoothly, maybe it’s because what’s written is written and I don’t get bogged down on rephrasing and editing. I still write on a laptop though because the thought of copying out a whole manuscript into Word doesn’t thrill me much whereas short stories are more manageable.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sometimes if I’m out and all I have is a small notebook, I’ll have to transfer what I’ve written into Word and it can get crazy, so I totally hear you! Getting bogged down with the rephrasing and editing is my life sometimes. It’s hard for to stop and say “quit trying to make this sentence so perfect!”

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

